Phillies Choose Their 2016 Manager

Today the Phillies chose their 53rd manager by promoting Pete Mackanin from Interim Manager to the permanent role…at least for the next year.  Pete played for the Phillies in the late 1970’s and is now the 8th person to have managed, coached and played for the team.  Larry Bowa, who is the current bench coach, is also a member of that club.

This move is not a surprise.  The team really began to come to life after Mackanin took over when Ryne Sandberg ran off.  While youth, trades and injuries have made it impossible for them to win much, the Phillies have at least looked like a team that is trying since Mackanin was put in charge.  He has also kept the youngsters in line, like when he benched Odubel Herrera this past Sunday for throwing a tantrum after an at-bat.  Herrera seems to have taken the lesson to heart and apologized to Mackanin earlier today.  This is a good sign that Mackanin can bridge the gap with this team from awful to, hopefully, competing again in a few years.

So, totally off topic, I recently went to Los Angeles to a Dodgers game to see Chase Utley and Jimmy Rollins play in blue uniforms.  I took a tour of the stadium before hand, which was very interesting.  The stadium itself is huge and not easy to find your way around, but Emma from Dodger Blue World was nice enough to give me a quick tour of the upper deck, which was very cool.  The view from above is amazing!  Thank you, Emma!

DSCN0562BMThe game itself was a very strange one.  The guy sitting next to me said he had been going to Dodgers games for 30 years and that day was the first time it had rained while he was there.  Yes, I went all the way to L.A. to get rained on.  So by the 4th inning, the camera was put away for good as I did not bring my usual Philly rain gear.  But I did manage to get some pictures before the 16 INNING ordeal ended.  Yes, 16 innings….and the Dodgers lost.  But I had photos to Chase and J-Roll to cheer me up!  I also saw Davy Lopes and….believe it or not…GREG DOBBS!  I have no idea why he was there watching the game, but I got a shot of him too.  It was an ex-Phillies reunion. 2015.09 Dodgers game

If anyone is interested, here is the full Photo Album from the pre-game tour and the start of the game.  I also visited Petco Park in San Diego, but am still working on those photos; I will post those in the next week or so.  In the meantime, it looks like the Phillies might actually win a game tonight….shhhh!  I should not say that too loudly.  Cross your fingers that the Marlins stay quiet.

“LIKE” us on Facebook for more updates & photos!

Photos by Jenn Zambri

2 comments

Leave a Reply

